The Commission de la représentation électorale is made up of the Chief Electoral Officer, Pierre Reid, and two commissioners appointed by the National Assembly from among qualified electors.

Appointed in April 2005, Serge Courville, geographer, professor emeritus at Université Laval, carries out the duties of commissioner. Appointed in October 2011, Bruno Jean, sociologist, professor at Université du Québec à Rimouski, also carries out the duties of commissioner.

Pierre Reid

Chief Electoral Officer and Chairman of the Commission de la représentation électorale

On June 11, 2015, the National Assembly of Québec unanimously appointed Pierre Reid as the Chief Electoral Officer. His seven-year term began on July 12, 2015. He is also Chair of the Commission de la représentation électorale.

Mr. Reid holds a Bachelor of Law degree from Université Laval and has been a member of the Barreau du Québec since 1977.

Involved in the area of governmental legal affairs for more than thirty years, Mr. Reid has acquired a solid knowledge of the workings of the public administration. His career began in 1978 as legal counsel at the National Assembly of Québec. A forensic lawyer at the Ministère de la Justice from 1980 to 1986, he subsequently held similar positions, notably at the Secrétariat du Comité de législation of the Ministère du Conseil exécutif, at the Ministère de l’Environnement, and at the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec. From 2002 to 2008, he continued his career path at the Office of the Deputy Minister of Justice as a legislative adviser.

Until his appointment, Mr. Reid was Associate Secretary-General of the Secrétariat du Conseil exécutif at the Ministère du Conseil exécutif, in charge of coordinating activities related to the files of the Québec Cabinet, in addition to ensuring the legal compliance of government decrees.

Serge Courville


Mr. Courville has a Ph.D. in Geography from the Université de Montréal (1979), where he also acquired a background in education and school administration. A Université Laval emeritus professor, he taught in the Geography Department from 1981 to 2004, founding the Historical Geography Laboratory that subsequently became part of the Interuniversity Centre for Québec Studies.

Prior to that, Mr. Courville was employed by the Montréal School Board (1964-1979) and the Government of Québec, in the Ministère de l'Environnement (1979-1981).

As a specialist in historical geography, Mr. Courville was the founding director of the Géographie historique collection and the founding co-director of the Atlas historique du Québec collection published by Les Presses de l'Université Laval. He has authored or co-authored roughly 20 books and more than 50 papers on the historical geography of Québec, several of which have won acclaim from the scientific community: the Guy-Frégault Prize and the Lionel-Groulx/Les Coopérants Prize awarded by the Institut d'histoire de l'Amérique française, the Jean-Charles-Falardeau Prize awarded by the Social Science Federation of Canada, the Alf Heggoy Prize awarded by the French Colonial Historical Society, and three awards that he shares with his colleagues/collaborators for the Atlas historique du Québec: the Special Jury Prize awarded by the Association québécoise de cartographie (Carto-Québec), the Lionel-Groulx/Bell Québec Prize awarded by the Institut d'histoire de l'Amérique française, and the Clio-Québec Prize awarded by the Canadian Historical Association. He has also received the Massey Medal awarded by the Royal Canadian Geographical Society for his outstanding career achievement.

Mr. Courville is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1992) and of the Royal Canadian Geographical Society (1997). He is also a Knight of the Ordre des Palmes académiques de la République française (2014). In addition, he received a research scholarship from the British Academy (1997) and a Killam Scholarship from the Canada Council for the Arts (2000-2001), for his study of views on colonization in the 19th century. In addition, he worked as a consultant for the National Geographic Society and Microsoft Corp. and has sat on the Boards of Directors of the FCAR Fund (1988-1991), the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (1998-2001), and Télé-université (1997-2003).

Bruno Jean


Mr. Jean is a Professor Emeritus at the University of Québec at Rimouski, where he was a regular professor from 1977 to 2014. In 2001, he was awarded the Canada Research Chair in Rural Development. For several years, he held positions as Director of the Sociology module, of the Groupe de recherche interdisciplinaire sur le développement régional, de l’Est du Québec (GRIDEQ), and of the PhD in Regional Development. Originally from the Bas-Saint-Laurent region (Basques RCM), he did his undergraduate and graduate studies at Laval University.

After obtaining a Ph.D. in Sociology (social sciences of development) from the École des hautes études en sciences sociales in Paris (1982), he was successively a visiting professor at Nantes University in France (1988), at the French National Institute for Agricultural Research (1995), at the Federal University of Parana in Brazil (2000), at the CNRS in France (2002), at Ibaraki University in Japan (2008), and at the Institut supérieur d'agriculture et d'agroalimentaire Rhône-Alpes (ISARA) in Lyon (2011).

In 1991, he received the prestigious Award for Excellence in Research from Université du Québec. His expertise has been sought by various organizations. He was a member of the Québec Government’s Partners’ Committee on Rurality set up to implement the National Policy on Rurality, which he helped to write. He was also a member of Canada’s Rural Issues Advisory Committee. In addition, he has just been appointed to the Scientific Board Office for the PSDR (regional development) program at the French National Institute for Agricultural Research, and he is also a foreign member of France’s Academy of Agriculture.

As Director of the Canada Research Chair in Rural Development, Mr. Jean lectures on rural development, the environment, economic and social development, third-world development, and local and regional development. His research covers different aspects of rural development, ranging from changes to family farming to the dynamics of local development in rural areas. In addition to this work, which has helped to expand the field of rural studies in Québec, he has been involved in many scientific cooperation programs in different countries. He has published numerous books and papers in the fields of regional development and rural studies. His book Territoires d'avenir – Pour une sociologie de la ruralité marked a turning point by recognizing rural life as an essential part of the socio-economic reality of modern advanced societies.